Our Relationship To Sacred Scripture – Part 1

When I think about redefining my faith I often think about my relationship to the Bible. The Bible plays a central part in the Christian faith. It is the source of truth, inspiration and direction from God.

Most Christians would regard the Bible as the “Word of God” meaning it came from God and is a message to all humanity.

But how exactly is it God’s Word?

Christians have disagreed about this for a long time but I want to hone in on one viewpoint that I used to hold.

The best way for me to get started is to use a reference point from the Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada (i.e. PAOC). But I should say that this article isn’t really about the PAOC specifically or any denomination at all. I just found their statement to be succinct and accurately capture the main ideas I used to hold..

The PAOC has a “Statement of Fundamental and Essential Truths.” Specifically in Article 5 of the General Constitution and By-Laws Amended by General Conference, 2014 they have the following:

5.1. HOLY SCRIPTURES
All Scripture is given by inspiration of God(1) by which we understand the whole Bible to be inspired in the sense that holy men of God were moved by the Holy Spirit to write the very words of Scripture.(2) Divine inspiration extends equally and fully to all parts of the original writings. The whole Bible in the original is, therefore, without error and, as such, is infallible, absolutely supreme and sufficient in authority in all matters of faith and practice.(3) The Bible does not simply contain the Word of God, but is, in reality, the complete revelation and very Word of God inspired by the Holy Spirit. Christian believers today receive spiritual illumination to enable them to understand the Scriptures,(4) but God does not grant new revelations that are contrary or additional to inspired biblical truth.(5)

The number references above are to reference these texts from the Bible.

1. 2 Timothy 3:16,17
2. 2 Peter 1:20,21
3. Psalm 119:160; Matthew 5:17,18
4. 1 Corinthians 2:12-14
5. Proverbs 30:5,6

I used to believe this statement of doctrine or teaching. I used to teach it as well.

But I believe it is responsible for a lot of misinterpretation when it comes to the Bible itself. It also leads people toward behaviour that is charged with fundamentalist type fervour that ends up hurting people rather than helping them.

Many Christians think that they can’t believe that the Bible is Inspired Sacred Scripture outside of this viewpoint and they are wrong. I used to think that and I didn’t know any better at the time.

Stay tuned to find out more.

Published by:

Ian Peers

I am a husband to the best wife and a father to a wonderful son. I enjoy reading about history and business. I enjoy playing billiards and video games with my son. I live in London Ontario Canada.

Categories Faith