The Roads of London ON: Tunnel Vs An Open Road

Today I went to Google to find out more about the Rapid Transit goals of London Ontario and came across www.shiftlondon.ca. I felt like a needed a visual aid to help me understand the larger context of the RT goals and I found it on http://www.shiftlondon.ca/timeline. This timeline is very helpful. My only problem with what I saw was that I wished the transitions were happening more quickly.

In the link http://www.shiftlondon.ca/whats_rt the website gives some of the benefits to the RT and I really like the second bullet point: “Reduce congestion on streets- By 2030, 25% more cars will be on London roadways. Rapid Transit can move people more efficiently, comfortably and reliably.”

When I first got back into the City at the beginning of April 2017 I could not believe the volume of traffic. It really is remarkable. RT will change that. It may not be dramatic but if something isn’t done I’m confident our city will evolve into a City with a major problem with vehicle pollution.

Everyone seems to be squeezing through a tunnel and driving at a rapid rate to where they want to go. Let’s replace this tunnel with a more open road.

Written by Ian Peers

April 21, 2017 at 6:21 pm