I was working out at a local YMCA when I found out through some news outlet or talk show that Macbeth was being put on the big screen at Cineplex on Saturday March 18th. As soon as I heard that I knew that I had to go and see it.

I’m glad I did. Macbeth is by far my favourite play. This may change over time but it stands true at this point in my life.

The “movie” was actually live theater that was filmed at the famous Stafford Ontario. It was an amazing experience to see a live production on the big screen like that.

A link to the trailer and some of the details can be found here:

http://www.stratfordfestival.ca/WhatsOn/StratfordHD/Production/Macbeth

What didn’t work so well was the Cineplex theater itself. The doors were left open and noise from the crowd lining up for Beauty & The Beast filtered in but someone in the audience caught it and closed the doors. I would say that if you’re going to have a traditional theater production on the big screen it might be a good idea to have ushers nearby to make sure the doors stay closed. Silence has a tendency to be used in these productions with good effect.

Nevertheless I was deeply moved by this production. Ian Lakes plays Macbeth and Krystin Pellerin plays Lady Macbeth. Their acting was astounding. I commend all the actors. I got goose bumps and tears and laughter out of the experience.

Every time I engage the story of Macbeth I learn something new about him and about myself. This time I saw an emphasis on his being a man. What is it to be a man? How does a boy become a man? These are questions that challenge Macbeth and do so today in my own heart.

17309422_10158348985110521_5202238552316806389_n

