A Small Tribute to Leonard Cohen

I recently met with a friend for coffee and he told me that Leonard Cohen had died September 21, 1934 – November 7, 2016). I couldn’t believe it! Obviously I had my head buried into my work because he shared that it was all over the Internet

(http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/leonard-cohen-dead-at-82-w449792)

I was truly sad to hear the news.

My first introduction to Leonard Cohen’s music was through the classic 1990 movie “Pump Up The Volume” Directed & Written by Allan Moyle and the Stars were Christian Slater, Samantha Mathis and Annie Ross. Cohen’s song “Everybody Knows” rang out through this movie like the anthem of Teenage Rebellion. The song is 5:36 seconds of both angst and hope that reflects the turmoil of the story.

I saw this movie probably around 1993 when I was 15 years old. I would later be drawn to buy a Leonard Cohen album that compiled some of his greatest songs. “First We Take Manhattan,” “Take This Waltz” and “Tower of Song.” Powerful songs. Powerful lyrics.

I loved his fedora. His suits. His poetry and unusual voice. His music impacted the minds and hearts of several generations. Not a lot of musicians can make that claim

I don’t know much about the life of the man who became this poet-musician but his songs shaped my sense of self, spirituality and helped me put words to feelings when I couldn’t as a teenager.

I suppose that is what music is meant to do.

 

Written by Ian Peers

November 15, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Posted in memories, Music

Tagged with ,