I’ve always believed in magic. When I wasn’t doing anything in this town, I’d go up every night, sit on Mulholland Drive, look out at the city, stretch out my arms, and say, “Everybody wants to work with me. I’m a really good actor. I have all kinds of great movie offers.” I’d just repeat these things over and over, literally convincing myself that I had a couple of movies lined up. I’d drive down that hill, ready to take the world on, going, “Movie offers are out there for me, I just don’t hear them yet.” It was like total affirmations, antidotes to the stuff that stems from my family background – Jim Carrey

I love this quote. I found it in Jack Canfield’s book “The Success Principles” on page 75. For the most part I have been greatly inspired by Canfield’s writing. It’s simple and easy to understand and I always walk away with something that inspires me.

What I love about this book is the value of setting goals and actually envisioning it. Getting goals down to a visceral level is so important to making them happen.

I know that there is recent negative things being said about Jim Carrey (i.e. radaronline.com/celebrity-news/renee-zellweger-supports-jim-carrey-following-std-claims/). But whatever the truth of those claims I’ve always liked his movies. Ace Ventura. The Mask. Liar Liar. Dumb & Dumber. I loved them all. The one move that really made a difference in my life though was Yes Man. It helped me realize how much I was saying “no” to life and my need to change that.

I’m thankful that Carrey did this early in his career and I’m thankful he shared his process. I need to do the same in my sales process. I need to set goals for my sales process and actually envision them happening. Thanks for the motivation Carrey!

