At Chapters I learned to think on my own. Here is how it happened.

From June 1999 to March 2001 I worked at Chapters Bookstore in London, Ontario (1037 Wellington Rd, London, ON N6E 1W4).

It was by far one of the best jobs I’ve had in my working life. I was a teenager when I worked there. The question I ask myself in my late 30’s is “Why ever did I leave?”

Harry Potter basically came out when I was at Chapters. I remember seeing the stacks and stacks of books be brought in and see them disappear with enthusiasm.

I loved being surrounded by books. We got a deep discount on any book in the store but it was challenging to take advantage of because the pay was low. But I didn’t care. I was surrounded by books. I got to a point where I knew where almost any book was in the whole store.

What I learned when I was there was the rule of 3 questions. My manager at the time was Nina and I gave her a lot of laughs. But I also came with a whole truck load of questions. She made the decision to limit me to 3 questions per night when she was on duty. I loved it because it challenged me to think before I asked.

My questions came from a place of insecurity. I was afraid to think on my own and this practice helped me do that. It was also really funny.

